1G (41) 4G (6) 6th edition (1) angron (1) batrep (2) bible (1) black templar (1) blood angels (2) chaos (16) dark angels (7) dark eldar (3) ebay (10) forgeworld (1) gamesworkshop (1) grampian (1) heyoh painting (18) horus heresy (1) linux (3) orks (10) oss (1) painting (36) pass-a-grille (1) phil wickham (1) primarch (1) Projects (35) rambling (36) review (1) rules (3) sailing (4) space wolves (29) tale of one gamer (39) tyranids (15) votd (1) warhammer 40k (12) wip (8)
Monday, January 17, 2011
Follow Up Rules Question
Ok so I don't have the rule book handy and well I like the interaction anyways. :-)
If a unit not engaged in close combat is behind a freindly unit that is, does that unit get the option of a cover save? (of course assuming that los from firing units passes through the enemy units that are locked in CC)
We've always granted cover saves for units that are more than 50% behind an intervening unit. Now I read that some people are not granting cover saves for Monsterous Creatures unless the intervening unit blocks LoS to more than 50% of the target (example, Hive Tyrant is completely behind a unit of Gaunts, but they're short so they don't block 50%?). How does this work?
As I'm building a Tyranid Army, would hate to think I have to use say "Gene Stealers" to provide cover for my Hive Tyrant, because they are taller than Hormagaunts... or conversely have to petition GW to make Hormagaunt models that are standing upright :-)